Rate This Thread - Routers.


Like this thread? Help the BGR community grow by sharing it with your friends.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2011, 08:43 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default Routers
Which Router would you all say is the fastest and most reliable?
I currently have the 30 dollar Belikin router but find that sometimes my internet runs slow while using it and sometimes it just disconnects and i lose internet for no reason and an orange light comes on when it should be green.
I have a motorola thing that the belkin connects into but its lights are always good and never has problems.
Is this a problem that can be fixed and i just have something messing up or should i get a new one.
If i do need to get a better router what would you all prefer thats a good router.
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote

Click Here to become a member and join in on the discussions at BGR. Our membership is always 100% FREE.

  #2  
Old 03-18-2011, 02:47 AM
BHS78's Avatar
BHS78 BHS78 is offline
Head Coach



Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belfry
Posts: 2,066
Likes: 956
Liked 82 Times in 49 Posts
BHS78 is on a distinguished road
Default
If you need to get a new router I have been using a Netgear Router for 3 years and have had no problems at all with it.
Send a private message to BHS78 Add BHS78 to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2011, 03:31 AM
Stardust's Avatar
Stardust Stardust is offline
This is my favorite pastime



Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: 星灰塵挑戰你使用你的腦子
Posts: 154,085
Likes: 3,598
Liked 4,634 Times in 3,184 Posts
Stardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to beholdStardust is a splendid one to behold
Default
I have been using D-Link routers at home and in our business for the past several years. It has worked fantastic.
__________________
Send a private message to Stardust Add Stardust to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2011, 09:36 AM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default
Thanks guys, i know the net gear routers are a tad higher than the belkins and ive never heard of the one sd mentioned, but for a real reliable router id give a 100+ for one. That should get me a pretty good one from what ive been told.
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2011, 02:10 PM
Hoot Gibson Hoot Gibson is offline
All BlueGrass Rivals

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,197
Likes: 723
Liked 1,421 Times in 1,018 Posts
Hoot Gibson is just really niceHoot Gibson is just really niceHoot Gibson is just really niceHoot Gibson is just really nice
Default
Of the routers that I have used (mostly D-Link, Netgear, Cisco-Linksys), I like Netgear's configuration software best. If you want to improve the range and strength of signal, then upgrading both your router and your PC to wireless-N. Wireless-N supposedly has a much better range and is several times faster than 54g.

I think that the speed and range increases for Wireless-N routers have been exaggerated some but there is no doubt that performance with a Wireless-N router and wireless card is much better than one that maxes out at 54g.

A cheaper way to improve your signal strength might be to replace the antenna on your router with one with higher gain. If the router is located in a cabinet or other place where the path between it and your computer are restricted, you might try moving it to a higher and more open location.

Although I like Netgear, I would not spend $100 on any modem. I would read the reviews on Amazon and go with one of the best rated and lower priced modems made by Netgear, Cisco-Linksys, D-Link, or Buffalo Technologies. Then, if you still have problems, then consider replacing the original antenna(s) with something better.
Send a private message to Hoot Gibson Add Hoot Gibson to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2011, 02:13 PM
Spud6's Avatar
Spud6 Spud6 is online now
Moderator


Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Big EKY
Posts: 14,548
Likes: 389
Liked 797 Times in 625 Posts
Spud6 is a jewel in the roughSpud6 is a jewel in the roughSpud6 is a jewel in the rough
Default
Originally Posted by Stardust View Post
I have been using D-Link routers at home and in our business for the past several years. It has worked fantastic.
Same here.
__________________
#BBFL
Send a private message to Spud6 Add Spud6 to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2011, 08:31 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default
Originally Posted by Hoot Gibson View Post
Of the routers that I have used (mostly D-Link, Netgear, Cisco-Linksys), I like Netgear's configuration software best. If you want to improve the range and strength of signal, then upgrading both your router and your PC to wireless-N. Wireless-N supposedly has a much better range and is several times faster than 54g.

I think that the speed and range increases for Wireless-N routers have been exaggerated some but there is no doubt that performance with a Wireless-N router and wireless card is much better than one that maxes out at 54g.

A cheaper way to improve your signal strength might be to replace the antenna on your router with one with higher gain. If the router is located in a cabinet or other place where the path between it and your computer are restricted, you might try moving it to a higher and more open location.

Although I like Netgear, I would not spend $100 on any modem. I would read the reviews on Amazon and go with one of the best rated and lower priced modems made by Netgear, Cisco-Linksys, D-Link, or Buffalo Technologies. Then, if you still have problems, then consider replacing the original antenna(s) with something better.
Thanks man, I actually live in a small apartment and like right now, im literally an arms length away from the modem but sometimes still lose it for no reason.
Im hoping that i can get another router and all will be fine but id hate to buy a new wireless router and it still happen. I dont think the range would have anything to do with it as both the desktop which is right beside it and the labtop which i usually use in the recliner beside it are really close to it.
I think im gonna go with a net gear router from wal mart. When my net works good its as fast as can be, but man sometimes i want to break it.
Another wierd thing is when i watch netflix through my wii console it loses internet connection quite a bit and has to search and load while at my dads house on his wii it works fine and never does that.
Ill try a new router out and let you all know how it goes, thanks to everyone for the help.
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2011, 04:55 AM
Ballers's Avatar
Ballers Ballers is offline
Retired

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10,013
Likes: 1,026
Liked 635 Times in 493 Posts
Ballers is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Ballers
Default
Cisco.. Anything else is just 2nd.
Send a private message to Ballers Add Ballers to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2011, 10:16 AM
zaga_fan's Avatar
zaga_fan zaga_fan is offline
Admin-a-hater



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sector 7 Slums
Posts: 14,442
Likes: 171
Liked 2,605 Times in 1,807 Posts
zaga_fan will become famous soon enough
Default
If you are dropping on a wireless router you might want to change the channel in the settings.
You could just be getting interference from other routers on the same frequency nearby.
Also....
try putting the router in the middle of the home/office in an elevated place.
__________________
Send a private message to zaga_fan Add zaga_fan to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2011, 02:40 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default
Originally Posted by zaga_fan View Post
If you are dropping on a wireless router you might want to change the channel in the settings.
You could just be getting interference from other routers on the same frequency nearby.
Also....
try putting the router in the middle of the home/office in an elevated place.
How would i change the channel?
I do pick up 3 other wireless networks on my computers but only ever connect to mine, which is password protected.
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2011, 03:51 AM
15thRegionSlamaBamma's Avatar
15thRegionSlamaBamma 15thRegionSlamaBamma is offline
Essential Element
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pikeville
Posts: 6,854
Likes: 0
Liked 38 Times in 31 Posts
15thRegionSlamaBamma will become famous soon enough15thRegionSlamaBamma will become famous soon enough
Default
Originally Posted by zaga_fan View Post
If you are dropping on a wireless router you might want to change the channel in the settings.
You could just be getting interference from other routers on the same frequency nearby.
Also....
try putting the router in the middle of the home/office in an elevated place.
Listen at you, Sykes has corrupted your mind lol jk
Send a private message to 15thRegionSlamaBamma Add 15thRegionSlamaBamma to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:16 AM
zaga_fan's Avatar
zaga_fan zaga_fan is offline
Admin-a-hater



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sector 7 Slums
Posts: 14,442
Likes: 171
Liked 2,605 Times in 1,807 Posts
zaga_fan will become famous soon enough
Default
Originally Posted by Bolt View Post
How would i change the channel?
I do pick up 3 other wireless networks on my computers but only ever connect to mine, which is password protected.
Some routers have the option and some don't.
There could be a switch under the router or it could be where you mess with the settings on your computer.
__________________
Send a private message to zaga_fan Add zaga_fan to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:37 AM
zaga_fan's Avatar
zaga_fan zaga_fan is offline
Admin-a-hater



Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sector 7 Slums
Posts: 14,442
Likes: 171
Liked 2,605 Times in 1,807 Posts
zaga_fan will become famous soon enough
Default
Originally Posted by 15thRegionSlamaBamma View Post
Listen at you, Sykes has corrupted your mind lol jk
If someone asks me about a wireless router as SYKES I'm supposed to say....

Sir/mam, we don't support your wireless router.
I would advise contacting the vendor responsible for your equipment for further troubleshooting
__________________
Send a private message to zaga_fan Add zaga_fan to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-31-2011, 03:20 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default
Okay thanks for the help guys.
My router doesnt have the place to switch the channels on it but it does have the web site you can go to to change it for yourself.
My channel was on Auto, i switched it to channel 1 and all seems well.
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-06-2011, 07:18 PM
torQQue's Avatar
torQQue torQQue is offline
Young Guns

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 110,782
Likes: 120
Liked 141 Times in 77 Posts
torQQue has disabled reputation
Default
Get a router that you can flash with the tomato or ddwrt firmware. Flashing with these custom firmwares will turn your 40 dollar router into a 500 to 600 dollar router. I flash all my routers with tomato. Once you flash you can even enable the router as a wireless repeater. I turned the one in wives photo studio(next to the house) into a wireless repeater. It communicates with the router in the house, and she can plug all of her devices/computer/printer/etc. directly into the router ports.

The best feature of tomato IMO is the feature rich QOS classification. This is invaluable if you have a lot of people on your network. For example if you are playing Xbox live or PSN, you can set it to throttle everyone else down to lower bandwidth so you never lag.
DDWRT has similar features and is compatible with more routers, however, I am more partial to tomato because I love the interface. I have installed both, really easy to flash the firmware. Both are open source and free.

http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index
__________________
Send a private message to torQQue Add torQQue to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-07-2011, 05:14 AM
LWC's Avatar
LWC LWC is offline
BGR Staff



Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firmly in the grace of God
Posts: 13,629
Likes: 4,788
Liked 1,016 Times in 792 Posts
LWC is a jewel in the roughLWC is a jewel in the roughLWC is a jewel in the roughLWC is a jewel in the rough
Default
Great stuff QQ
Send a private message to LWC Add LWC to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-08-2011, 06:24 AM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default
Originally Posted by torQQue View Post
Get a router that you can flash with the tomato or ddwrt firmware. Flashing with these custom firmwares will turn your 40 dollar router into a 500 to 600 dollar router. I flash all my routers with tomato. Once you flash you can even enable the router as a wireless repeater. I turned the one in wives photo studio(next to the house) into a wireless repeater. It communicates with the router in the house, and she can plug all of her devices/computer/printer/etc. directly into the router ports.

The best feature of tomato IMO is the feature rich QOS classification. This is invaluable if you have a lot of people on your network. For example if you are playing Xbox live or PSN, you can set it to throttle everyone else down to lower bandwidth so you never lag.
DDWRT has similar features and is compatible with more routers, however, I am more partial to tomato because I love the interface. I have installed both, really easy to flash the firmware. Both are open source and free.

http://www.polarcloud.com/tomato
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index
This sounds really in depth to a retard like myself on a computer.
I would love to be able to play without ever lagging and realize that all you have to do is pretty much download the software, however, what routers will work with the tomato program? I take it my 40 dollar Belkin Router is not one of them? Id hate to download the stuff and not be able to figure out how to get connected or something.
And all thats ever on my router at one time at the most would be a labtop, desktop and game system. Usually the wife is on the labtop while i play some call of duty or something, causing incredible lag for me and sometimes even completely disconnecting us both.

Thanks QQ
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-08-2011, 08:15 AM
torQQue's Avatar
torQQue torQQue is offline
Young Guns

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 110,782
Likes: 120
Liked 141 Times in 77 Posts
torQQue has disabled reputation
Default
Originally Posted by Bolt View Post
This sounds really in depth to a retard like myself on a computer.
I would love to be able to play without ever lagging and realize that all you have to do is pretty much download the software, however, what routers will work with the tomato program? I take it my 40 dollar Belkin Router is not one of them? Id hate to download the stuff and not be able to figure out how to get connected or something.
And all thats ever on my router at one time at the most would be a labtop, desktop and game system. Usually the wife is on the labtop while i play some call of duty or something, causing incredible lag for me and sometimes even completely disconnecting us both.

Thanks QQ
DDWRT supports most router models. I have only ever installed Tomato on Cisco/Linksys routers. I exclusively purchase Tomato compatible Linksys routers because I love the firmware features so much.

The wireless repeater/bridge features are invaluable too, especially if you have a large house and want to "amplify" your signal throughout the house or even outside. Or, maybe you have a xbox or computer upstairs and dont want to purchase wireless cards and/or run network cable all through the house. Setup one these flashed routers up as a wireless bridge and plug your xbox or computer network cable directly into the router. The bridge will communicate with your router downstairs wirelessly, eliminating the need to run network cable all over your home, or purchasing expensive wireless cards. They make excellent print servers too. You get other nice features such as alerts, bandwidth tracking, in-depth access restriction rules, configurable quality of service, etc.

However, I don't think the Belkin routers are supported by Tomato. But I have installed DDWRT on many of Netgear and Belkin routers for friends and/or family members. DDWRT has a similar feature set to Tomato.

Here is the DDWRT compatiablity list. Make sure you download the correct firmware for your model before flashing, otherwise you may brick your router.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
__________________
Send a private message to torQQue Add torQQue to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-08-2011, 10:45 AM
Billnz28 Billnz28 is offline
BGR Dictator

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ky
Posts: 628
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Billnz28 has disabled reputation
Default
QQ installed DDWRT firmware on my junk linksys router that I had given up on. It would always get disconnected from the internet and I would have to unplug it to get the internet back on. After he installed this Firmware it hasnt failed me since.
Send a private message to Billnz28 Add Billnz28 to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:01 PM
Bolt Bolt is offline
Cheerleader
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 461
Likes: 367
Liked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Bolt is on a distinguished road
Default
Thanks QQ, youve been a big help. I am in the process of downloading now. Ill let you know how it turns out.
Send a private message to Bolt Add Bolt to Your Contacts Top of page Reply With Quote
Reply

  BGR-Kentucky High School Sports - BlueGrassRivals » Computers & Electronics » Computer & Windows Help

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -9. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.