Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Was Going After Bin Laden Illegal?
The guy they call Judge on Fox Business says going after Bin Laden was illegal. What say you?

Quote:This business of the president deciding to kill people is very dangerous and very unlawful. Put aside that governmental assassination is a violation of the Constitution. Put aside that this killing was not in self-defense and was without a declaration of war. Put aside the law that the president may never order the killing of civilians—period. And put aside that governmental killing violates at least four treaties and three federal statutes.
I don't know. I'm no lawyer, but I'm pretty sure the events of 9/11/2001 were illegal.
BillyB Wrote:The guy they call Judge on Fox Business says going after Bin Laden was illegal. What say you?

This is where those who specialize in law have their wires crossed IMO. We are a sovereign nation and therefore have the authority to demand that OUR own citizens must obey the law and consequently punish those who don't.

To think that everybody else on the planet is compelled to obey US law is rediculous. When a non citizen kills Americans, or even one American for that matter, to say a military mission to bring them to justice is wrong is antilogic. Here we have a guy that is directly responsible for the murders of literally thousands of innocents and exacerbating a mild recession into the possible total collapse of our nations economy (3 trillion is the best guess price tag for 9/11 and that figure is equal to 2 years deficit spending by the US ). And Napolitano thinks that we should just not respond because he says it's illegal. This is a military matter and must be dealt with accordingly.