Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Grade School Kids???
Why are high schools playing young kids with 18 and 19 year old men?
I don't know about other parts of the state, but in Clay County I think it is because of basketball and football. Everyone has to admit these 2 sports get the best atheletes.
I dont see anything wrong with it...Some grade school kids are actually better at baseball than some high school kids because they are good at the fundamentals of the game, and can make good contact at the plate...I started playing high school baseball in 7th grade, and I know many others who have done the same and been able to compete...
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I think it is mainly because of the participation at some school. Usually, like at any other school, a coach wants a jv team, and well some schools just dont get the kids to play on varsity and jv, so they invite anyone through grades 7-8 to come join the team.
The high school where my child plays has a kid that has been on there since he was in the 7th grade.. he is now a freshman and basically is one of the best pitchers in the area... IMO!!
I just can't see how a kid in the 7th grade can compete with a senior in high school. How could the have the arm strength or mental discipline to play at this level, not to mention PITCH?
Knott Central has a 7th grader that no hit a very solid Perry Co. Central.
I guess there might be a few kids out there, but I'm not sure about the whole no hit by the 7th grader.
I was at that game and it actually DID happen.